If you’ve been discriminated against then you may be entitled to compensation for any losses you have incurred. There’s a strict 3-month time limit from the date of the last incident of discrimination to submit a complaint to the Employment Tribunal so don’t delay, call us now for a free consultation on your problem.


If you would like more specific information on a particular area of discrimination please click on the relevant link below:

  1. Age discrimination
  2. Sex discrimination
  3. Race discrimination
  4. Religious discrimination
  5. Belief discrimination
  6. Sexual orientation discrimination
  7. Disability discrimination
  8. Gender reassignment discrimination
  9. Discrimination because of your being married or in a civil partnership
  10. Discrimination because of your being pregnant or because you’ve suffered an illness during pregnancy


Discrimination – The Law

Below you’ll find a brief description of discrimination law relating to employment matters. However, this is a complex area and we recommend that you gain legal advice before taking any action.

1. Has there been an incident of discrimination?

Has a “prohibited action” occurred? Examples of a prohibited action could include incidents relating to:

  • who should be offered employment
  • on what terms employment is offered
  • by refusing to offer employment
  • access to opportunities for promotion, training or other benefit
  • contract terms
  • the dismissal of the worker
  • subjecting the worker to any other detriment

Was the discriminatory action undertaken because of a “protected characteristic” of the claimant? Protected characteristics include:

  • sex
  • race
  • religion or belief
  • disability
  • sexual orientation
  • age
  • gender reassignment
  • marriage or civil partnership
  • pregnancy or maternity leave

2. When did the incident of discrimination occur?

If you have been discriminated against then you have 3 months  from the date of the incident of discrimination to submit a claim for discrimination to the Employment Tribunal. This is extremely important – the Employment Tribunal is very strict on the time limits.

3.  What was the type of discrimination suffered?

Broadly, there are seven types of discrimination. These are:

One recommendation that we do make to all potential claimants is that they keep an extensive diary of what incidents have occurred and why the believe they have occurred. This could prove invaluable should you wish to pursue legal action

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Looking for something?

Use the form below to search the site:

Still not finding what you're looking for? Drop us a note so we can take care of it!

Visit our friends!

A few highly recommended friends...